Whats going on at the moment.

Intro about me– I’m a stay at home mom of 2 boys (1 and 2 years). I try to keep myself busy an stick to a schedule; meals made, house cleaned, kids napped, up to date with pre-school and all other odd and ends tied up.

Weekly post: [home schooling]

Every week I begin a shape, color, animal and number for my oldest to learn. He knows his alphabet, he can count to 10 and knows a few scattered numbers up to 20, he also knows his shapes, animals and colors. While he knows these things I want to reinforce them. We also have a couple other items that we stick with each week.

our ongoing projects are letter sounds, sight words, putting sounds together to make words, values of numbers and counting. we are also exploring writing our numbers  practicing finger dexterity and learning about rhyming.

This week our shape is square, our number is 3, our color is green  and our animal is a snake. 

At the moment:

After Thanksgiving and Christmas I am not too excited to plan one more holiday dinner but, what the heck. New years is upon us and I want to do a themed dinner pulling together traditions from around the world that are said to bring prosperity. I have done minor research on this topic so far  and am tentatively  planning a fish dinner (cod) and some black eyed peas, Possibly greens as well. Maybe I will get down and floury and bake. I’ve been in mood but not willing to actually do it. I think that my cooking muse is on vacation.

My meal plan for January is in the works and as always, I am surprised how I can still find new  recipes to try. We haven’t repeated a dinner in the past 9-ish weeks. I like variety and cant stand the thought of eating the same thing 2 weeks in a row.

For the future: 

I have a ton of things I want to do but they have to wait. I figure that the things that matter, that I truly want to do will stay in my mind and get done. My plans include to attend a class this January and begin Volunteering as a Doula at the University of Utah hospital. If you are unfamiliar with what a Doula is then look it up on google. A Doula is a woman who attends and assists a mother during her birth in what ever way the mother requests. Doulas are great to have at births because they support the mother during one of the most difficult experiences of her life. So once you google Doula, go ahead an google other things you read and have no idea about (Midwife, placental encapsulation, water birth, home birth, birth plan) Yes this will open a whole can of worms. good luck.

Another plan on the back burner is to go back to school in the next semester. I’ve been thinking for a while and maybe its time. We will see if it works with whats going on come this spring time.

I love to craft and make things. I have been wanting to make myself a new tote purse, mine is about 6 years old. I still love it but its time to have a new one. I would also like to make more family cloth, If you don’t know what it is google it! basically its using cloth wipes instead of toilet paper. GASP! You may say, WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT? I have my reasons, and we already use cloth diapers and cloth wipes for the kids. Why not take the next step.

I am also wanting to crochet doilies. I am only accomplished at making scarves. I want to learn to make more fancy do-dads. I want to make make a table runner and more doilies to go under knick-nacks. I like pretty stuff and maybe I’m a tad old fashioned.

Thanks to all of you for reading. This is my first blog, it’s a learning experience and I will continue to tweak how I create my blog and what goes into it as well as making blogging a regular habit. 

Please bare with me, I’m hoping to get my meal plan up soon. I want to put my meal plans up a week behind the current one so that I will have already tried each recipe and be able to review each dinner. 

Leave a Reply

