DIY menu board

For the new year I wanted to do a series of craft projects. Here is my menu board I wanted to make. I am in love with how it looks and with how affordable it was.

I only had to buy the frame. I got it at Savers for 7.99. it was a bit more than I wanted to pay but the Savers here is so incredibly over priced.

IMG_1824[1]

Next I took the back off and took the picture and glass out. I was left with the frame, I roughed it up with some sand paper then wiped it down with a damp rag to remove any dust that might keep the paint from sticking.

I used some craft paints I had around and mixed a color i liked. It ended up taking about 3 coats of paint. I sanded between the second and third layers to smooth things out and then cleaned it off again with a damp rag.

I painted the picture black. I origionaly had planned to make a chalk board paint and paint a seprate board or the inside picture with it but I ended up just keeping it simple and frugal

IMG_1832[1]

Here is the finished product, I couldn’t be happier with it. I just re assembled all the components back into the frame and the project was all done. I am using chalk pens to write the weekly menu on the glass. The chalk pens came in a set of 4 from walmart for $10.

I hope this inspires you to create one of your own to enjoy. Take care!

Leave a Reply

